Appendix 1: Recommended Amendments to Provisions – Hearing Stream 7 – Small topics, wrap-up and Variation 1 - Consequential Amendments

Section 42A recommended amendments are shown in red text.

Right of Reply recommended amendments are shown in green text.

Additions are <u>underlined</u> and deletions are struck through.

Amend Method 1

Method 1: District plan implementation

S≋FW

The process to amend district plans to implement policies 1, <u>CC.1, CC.2, CC.2A, CC.3,</u> <u>CC.4, CC.7, CC.8</u>, 3, 4, 7, 11, 15, <u>FW.2</u>, <u>FW.3, FW.4, FWXXA</u>, 21, 22, 23, 24, <u>24A, 24B</u>, <u>24C, 24CC, 24D, IE.1</u>, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, <u>UD.1, UD.4</u>, 34, will commence <u>as</u> soon as reasonably practicable, unless otherwise specifically directed within the policy, and be notified in the next relevant plan change or full plan review unless, an <u>alternative timeframe for notification is specifically directed within the policy.-must</u> <u>be given effect to through the next relevant plan change or full plan review.</u> Or <u>before, the date on which the relevant council commences the ten year review of its</u> <u>district plan, or a provision in a district plan, pursuant to section 79 of the Resource</u> <u>Management Act 1991</u>.

District and city councils that will implement method 1 are:

- Wellington City Council
- Porirua City Council
- Kāpiti Coast District Council
- Hutt City Council
- Upper Hutt City Council
- South Wairarapa District Council
- Carterton District Council
- Masterton District Council
- Tararua District Council for land within the Wellington region.

Policies 3 and 4 with respect to the coastal environment do not apply to Upper Hutt City Council.

Only a small portion of rural land in the Tararua District is within the Wellington

region. The rest of the district is within the Manawatu-Wanganui region. <u>The</u> <u>following</u> Policies <u>do not apply to Tararua District Council</u>: 1, <u>CC.1, CC.2, CC.2A, CC.3,</u> <u>CC.4, 3, 4, 7, 8, 11, 15, 21, <u>FW.2, FW.3, FW.4 FWXXA,</u> 22, 25, 26, 29, <u>30, 31, 32, and</u> <u>UD.4.</u> do not apply to Tararua District Council so as not to create conflict with the policy direction in the One Plan for the Manawatu Wanganui region.</u>

Amend Method 2

Method 2: Regional plan implementation

The process to amend regional plans to implement policies 2, <u>CC.1</u>, <u>CC.4</u>, <u>CC.4A</u>, <u>CC.4A</u>, <u>CC.5</u>, <u>CC.6</u>, <u>CC.7</u>, <u>CC.8</u>, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, <u>18A</u>, <u>18B</u>, 19, 20, <u>FW.1</u>, <u>FWXXA</u>, <u>FW.X</u>, 21, 22, 23, 24, <u>24A</u>, <u>24C</u>, <u>24CC</u>, <u>24D</u>, <u>IE.1</u>, 25, 26, 27, 28 <u>and</u>, 29 <u>and UD.4</u> will commence <u>as soon as reasonably practicable unless otherwise specifically directed within the policy, and be notified in the next relevant plan change or full plan review, <u>unless an alternative timeframe for notification is specifically directed within the policy.-must be given effect to through the next relevant plan change or full plan review, <u>or before, the date on which the relevant council commences the ten year review of its district plan, or a provision in a district plan, pursuant to section 79 of the Resource Management Act 1991.</u></u></u>

≫FW

S≋FW

Amend Method 4

Method 4: Consideration – resource consents, notices of requirement and when changing, varying or reviewing plans

Policies 35 to 60, <u>IM.1, IM.2</u>, CC.9, CC.10, CC.11, <u>CC.12, CC.13</u>, CC.14, <u>CC.14A</u>, FW.5, <u>FWXXB</u>, IE.2, IE.2A, UD.2-and, UD.3 and UD.5 will be implemented, where relevant, when considering a resource consent, notice of requirement, or when changing, varying or reviewing a district or regional plan.

<u>Local authorities</u> **District and City councils** that will implement method 4 are:

- Wellington Regional Council
- Wellington City Council
- Porirua City Council
- Kāpiti Coast District Council
- Hutt City Council
- Upper Hutt City Council
- South Wairarapa District Council

- Carterton District Council
- Masterton District Council

Tararua District Council where a proposal relates to land within the Wellington region

Amend Method 5

Method 5: Allocation of responsibilities

Local authorities are responsible for the land use control for *biological diversity*, natural hazards, and hazardous substances<u>, and freshwater</u>, as described in policies 61, 62, and 63 <u>and FW.6</u>.

≫F₩

<u>Local authorities</u> District and City councils that will implement method 5 are:

- Wellington Regional Council
- Wellington City Council
- Porirua City Council
- Kāpiti Coast District Council
- Hutt City Council
- Upper Hutt City Council
- South Wairarapa District Council
- Carterton District Council
- Masterton District Council

Tararua District Council for land within the Wellington region