

Report 24.370

Confirmed Public minutes of the Regional Land Transport Plan 2021: 2024 Mid-term Review Hearing Subcommittee meeting on Tuesday 9 July and Wednesday 10 July 2024

## Tuesday 9 July 2024

Taumata Kōrero – Council Chamber, Greater Wellington Regional Council 100 Cuba Street, Te Aro, Wellington, at 9.30am

### **Members Present**

Councillor Staples (Chair) Mayor Guppy Councillor Leggett Councillor Pannett Councillor Plimmer Emma Speight Greater Wellington Regional Council Upper Hutt City Council Porirua City Council Wellington City Council South Wairarapa District Council New Zealand Transport Agency – Waka Kotahi

### Karakia timatanga

The Subcommittee Chair invited opened the meeting with a karakia timatanga.

### **Public Business**

1 Apologies

There were no apologies.

#### 2 Declarations of conflicts of interest

There were no declarations of conflicts of interest.

3 Process for Considering Submissions and Feedback on the Regional Land Transport Plan 2021: 2024 Mid-term Review – Report 24.323

The Subcommittee Chair spoke to the report.

Moved: Emma Speight / Mayor Guppy

That the Subcommittee:

- 1 Agrees to the hearing process as set out in this report.
- 2 Accepts the late submissions received on the mid-term review of the Regional Land Transport Plan 2021.

The motion was **carried**.

#### 4 Hearing of oral presentations

A timetable of oral presentations was circulated.

Hearing order	Submission number	Name and organisation
1	HYS144	Alex Hon Kuen Ho
2	E020	Simon Louisson and Celia Wade-Brown - Great Harbour Way
3	HYS056	Catharine Underwood
4	E001	Alan Smith
5	E017	Nigel Piper – Kinetic Wellington
6	HYS484	Ellen Blake

Submitters were heard in the following order:

The meeting adjourned at 10.29am and resumed at 10.58am

Hearing order	Submission number	Name and organisation
7	HYS512 E005	Dr David Tripp – Doctors for Active Safe Transport (for Dr Marion Leighton and Associate Professor Caroline Shaw)
8	E008	Dr David Tripp and Derek Richardson – Hutt Cycle Network

The meeting adjourned at 11.18am and resumed at 11.36am.

Hearing order	Submission number	Name and organisation
9	E011	Delaney Myers – Bus and Coach Association NZ
10	HYS541	Jackie Elliot – Ōtaki Community Board (MS Teams)
11	E009	Alan Urquhart Jamieson
12	HYS477	Paul O'Regan

The meeting adjourned at 12.14pm and resumed at 1.09pm

Hearing order	Submission number	Name and organisation
13	E016	Thomas Bryan – Blind Citizens New Zealand (Wellington)
14	E013	Daniel Rode – Entrada Intercity Travel Group (MS Teams)
15	E018	Geordie Cassin and Alex Gray – Automobile Association Wellington District Council
16	HYS540	James Fraser – Save the Basin Campaign
17	E010	Billy Clemens – Ia Ara Aotearoa – Transporting New Zealand

The meeting adjourned at 2.11pm and resumed at 2.57pm.

Hearing order	Submission number	Name and organisation
18	HYS553	Tim Jones
19	HYS510	Daniel Jones – Korokoro Environmental Group
20	E019	Isabella Cawthorne

The Subcommittee Chair advised that the meeting would adjourn and reconvene at 9.30am on Wednesday 10 July 2024.

### Karakia whakamutunga

The Subcommittee Chair adjourned the meeting with a karakia whakamutunga.

The meeting adjourned at 3.36pm.

# Wednesday 10 July 2024

Taumata Kōrero – Council Chamber, Greater Wellington Regional Council 100 Cuba Street, Te Aro, Wellington, at 9.33am

### **Members Present**

Councillor Staples (Chair) Mayor Guppy Councillor Leggett Councillor Pannett Councillor Plimmer Emma Speight Greater Wellington Regional Council Upper Hutt City Council Porirua City Council Wellington City Council South Wairarapa District Council New Zealand Transport Agency – Waka Kotahi

### Karakia timatanga

The Subcommittee Chair reconvened the meeting with a karakia timatanga.

### **Public Business**

#### 5 Apologies

There were no apologies.

#### 6 Declarations of conflicts of interest

There were no declarations of conflicts of interest.

#### 7 Hearing of oral presentations

A timetable of oral presentations was circulated.

Submitters were heard in the following order:

Hearing order	Submission number	Name and organisation
21	HYS530	Peri Zee

The meeting adjourned at 9.52am and resumed at 10.02am.

Hearing order	Submission number	Name and organisation
22	HYS559	Patrick Rooney – The Future is Rail / Save Our Trains (MS Teams)

The meeting adjourned at 10.15am and resumed at 10.38am. Emma Speight was not present when the meeting resumed.

Hearing order	Submission number	Name and organisation
23	HYS285	Bhavana Sharma

Emma Speight returned to the meeting at 10.40am during the above speaker.

### 8 Analysis of Submissions to the Draft Wellington Regional Land Transport Plan 2021: 2024 Mid-term Review – Report 24.350

Shan Lu, Principal Strategic Advisor, spoke to the report.

#### Moved: Cr Pannett / Cr Leggett

That the Subcommittee:

- 1 Considers the submissions on the draft Wellington Regional Land Transport Plan 2021: 2024 mid-term review, together with the submission analysis and officer comments in determining its findings and recommendations to the Regional Transport Committee.
- 2 Recommends to the Regional Transport Committee, following consideration of the submissions on the draft Wellington Regional Land Transport Plan 2021: 2024 mid-term review and officer advice, any changes to the draft Wellington Regional Land Transport Plan 2021: 2024 mid-term review as follows:
  - a Strengthening the narrative on the importance of the Cook Strait ferries to the Wellington Region and New Zealand
  - b Strengthening the importance of walking as outlined in the Government Policy Statement on Land Transport
  - c That walking is highlighted in the "To Consider when we develop Regional Land Transport Plan 2027" section of the 2021 Regional Land Transport Plan Mid-Term Review.

The motion was **carried**.

**Noted:** The Subcommittee acknowledged the contribution of submitters and staff in preparing the Regional Land Transport Plan 2021: 2024 Mid-term Review and running the hearing process.

### Karakia whakamutunga

The Subcommittee Chair closed the meeting with a karakia whakamutunga. The public meeting closed at 12.08pm

la

Councillor A Staples Committee Chair

Date: 23 July 2024.