Te Kaunihera me ngā kaikaunihera

Council and councillors

In this video, CEO Nigel Corry outlines the role of our regional councillors and gives you an idea of what they actually do and provides some insights into how we work together.

Te Tiriti o Waitangi

Greater Wellington and Council take pride in our relationship with mana whenua and Māori in our region. 

We are committed to meeting our responsibilities under Te Tiriti o Waitangi/The Treaty of Waitangi and our broader statutory obligations to Māori, as well as, developing our partnership with Māori.   

Councillor Remuneration

Remuneration for elected members is set by the Remuneration Authority annually.

Following the election, councillor remuneration will be:

Chairperson: $176,609


The Remuneration Authority has set Council's governance remuneration pool for 2022/23 following the election at $947,216. Council will allocate the governance remuneration pool based on its governance structure. The remuneration pool does not apply to the Council Chair.

Under the current governance structure, the remuneration for Greater Wellington’s councillors for the 2022/23 financial year (until the election) is:



Deputy Council Chairperson (with committee chair responsibilities)


Committee chairperson (5)


Chair, Hutt Valley Flood Management Subcommittee and Portfolio Leader


Portfolio Leader, Sustainable Development


Councillor (with no additional responsibilities) (4)


Councillor (Minimum Allowable Remuneration)


Updated 20 July 2022 at 16:17